Although President Bill Clinton signed the National and Community Service Trust Act in 1993 creating Americorps, doing a year of service is still not well known nor widely embraced, even within a well-connected and educated community like Harvard-Westlake. In 2015, Harvard‐Westlake took a major step to promote students’ experience in service of others by establishing the Service Year Fellowship. Harvard-Westlake provides support to students who take a service year doing service domestically. The award will be an amount up to $5,000 to be used toward expenses of the proposed gap year experience. This fellowship will provide additional financial support to those seeking to complete a service year.

Download application packet

The previous winner is:

  • Zach Lechter
    Zach Lechter
    Year Awarded: 2019
  • Sophie Kim
    Sophie Kim
    Year Awarded: 2019
  • Tosh Le
    Tosh Le
    Year Awarded: 2019
  • Kelly Morrison
    Kelly Morrison
    Year Awarded: 2016