The Michael Brownstein '99 Memorial Gap Year Fellowship Program was established at Harvard-Westlake School in 2008 to perpetuate the spirit and memory of Michael Brownstein '99, whose life was tragically cut short in a June 2007 accident. Michael had a strong humanitarian spirit and sense of social justice. He lived life to the fullest, passionately pursuing life-affirming experiences through extensive travel. The Brownstein Fellowship is awarded to a member(s) of the senior class based upon a proposal for a gap year experience that incorporates both travel and service to others. The award is an amount up to $10,000 to be used toward expenses of the proposed gap year experience.

The Brownstein Fellowship proposal can include experiences such as cultural immersion or academic enrichment in a foreign country combined with service or volunteer work. Examples might include volunteering at a bioreserve associated with a language school in Guatemala; coaching, teaching, and working in an AIDS clinic in Tanzania; building houses worldwide; working a construction internship with a builder/mountaineer in Alaska; or some combination of the above. It does not have to cover one contiguous time period but can be broken up into segments.

Download application packet

If you have any questions, please contact Jim Patterson, Director of the Kutler Center.

Recent Brownstein fellows:

  • Berry Nakash
    Berry Nakash
    Year Awarded: 2020
  • George Grube
    George Grube
    Year Awarded: 2020
  • Sy Schoen
    Sy Schoen
    Year Awarded: 2020
  • Dean Reiter
    Dean Reiter
    Year Awarded: 2020
  • Stephanie Cho
    Stephanie Cho
    Year Awarded: 2020
  • Tosh Le
    Tosh Le
    Year Awarded: 2019
  • Anja Clark
    Anja Clark
    Year Awarded: 2019
  • Asher Vogel
    Asher Vogel
    Year Awarded: 2019
  • Xenia Bernal
    Xenia Bernal
    Year Awarded: 2019
  • Matthew Yam
    Matthew Yam
    Year Awarded: 2018
  • Annelise Breidsprecher
    Annelise Breidsprecher
    Year Awarded: 2018